Familiar Phantom

image

There are times she is like a ghost in some house far to the wayside.  Fading from windows, hiding from sight.  There are those times I would reach my hand out towards her, like those days before. 

Her hand in mine.  The curve of her smile and her eyes lingering upon me. 

I stay my hand though, for it is that I do know there is none there.  Just as empty as this house.  Forgotten, dusty, and left to see its better days behind. 

Left behind as I turn to walk away but remain no less haunted as I was those moments before.  Away, yet  never to have left all that once was her.

Leave a Reply

